Menu Monday

September 14, 2009 Ariel
Tags: ,

Do you use menus? I used to be really great about keeping our meals on a loose schedule.  I would make up a list of the meals we had available for the week then we could choose what we wanted each night; this way I wasn’t tied down to a certain meal on a certain day – I like flexibility.  It worked out great, for a while.  Then I started getting away from making my lists, so we just had random meals and lots of  afternoons wondering what I was going to fix that night.

I am now attempting to start over! Part of the reason is because we didn’t go to Publix yesterday and I don’t want to drive back across the Bay today.  Another reason is because we have ALOT of food in our house right now, we just don’t realize it.  So, this week, I’m making all of our meals from food already here in the house.  The only food I am buying from the store will be fresh fruits and vegetables and a few necessity items that we’d run out of.

I think it will be fun to see what I really have here – items I forgot about; lately when we need groceries, I just make a list of what I want and shop from that, then it all gets lost in my pantry 🙂 .  This week, we’ll use up the food that’s been in my freezer and pantry, just waiting for someone to eat!

Here’s what I have so far:

Spaghetti with homemade sauce, frozen brocolli and rolls

Pork Chops, rice, black eyed peas

Lentil Cassarole (salad or fresh veggies from the store)

Hard/Soft Tacos

Do you need help with making a menu?
There are lots of resources online to help you. One site that I’ve tried is E-Mealz. Now, this site does charge $5 a month, paid in 3 month increments. They give you lots of options for your menu – you can choose family size, meal type (low cal, low fat, etc.), even which store you shop at.
Also try these free sites:
Meals.com
Meals Matter

Entry Filed under: meals

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kristi lanford  |  September 14, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    so true on the menus!!! I LOVE menus 4 moms!! I have been using them for about a year!! I so enjoy getting up in the morning and knowing what I am going to cook for dinner!! It is FREE and they have the menu and you scroll down to the PDF and print off your whole grocery list!!! then I add what I need for breakfasts and lunches and run to the store!! There is usually a mexican night and a veggie night in there every week!! Great exposure to other fruits and veggies and the rotate around about every 8 weeks or so!!! anyway I really, really like http://www.menus4moms.com love your site, kristi

  • 2. Alissabeth  |  September 14, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    I agree. Shopping from a menu list is much easier. You only put on the list what you need for those meals and don’t spend as much. Since we got back from vacation, I had to create some hodge podge meals. I try to keep stocked up on the necessities that I use frequently and just buy the stuff that I don’t have. I generally make a weekly meal plan though. It is pretty flexible if I have gone to the store. If I see something listed on a certain day, I just get that ready. Since I’ve done the shopping it isn’t a big deal.

    Have fun creating from your pantry!

  • 3. Ariel  |  September 14, 2009 at 9:03 pm

    ohh, I need to check that out Kristi! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

September 2009
S M T W T F S
    Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blogroll

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

 
